PROCEEDINGS OF SPIE

Solar Hydrogen and Nanotechnology X

Shaohua Shen

Editor

9–13 August 2015 San Diego, California, United States

Sponsored and Published by SPIE

Volume 9560

Proceedings of SPIE 0277-786X, V. 9560

SPIE is an international society advancing an interdisciplinary approach to the science and application of light.

Solar Hydrogen and Nanotechnology X, edited by Shaohua Shen, Proc. of SPIE Vol. 9560, 956001 \cdot © 2015 SPIE \cdot CCC code: 0277-786X/15/\$18 \cdot doi: 10.1117/12.2218490

The papers in this volume were part of the technical conference cited on the cover and title page. Papers were selected and subject to review by the editors and conference program committee. Some conference presentations may not be available for publication. Additional papers and presentation recordings may be available online in the SPIE Digital Library at SPIEDigitalLibrary.org.

The papers reflect the work and thoughts of the authors and are published herein as submitted. The publisher is not responsible for the validity of the information or for any outcomes resulting from reliance thereon.

Please use the following format to cite material from these proceedings:

Author(s), "Title of Paper," in Solar Hydrogen and Nanotechnology X, edited by Shaohua Shen, Proceedings of SPIE Vol. 9560 (SPIE, Bellingham, WA, 2015) Six-digit Article CID Number.

ISSN: 0277-786X

ISSN:1996-756X (electronic) ISBN: 9781628417265

Published by

SPIE

P.O. Box 10, Bellingham, Washington 98227-0010 USA Telephone +1 360 676 3290 (Pacific Time) · Fax +1 360 647 1445 SPIE.org

Copyright © 2015, Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers.

Copying of material in this book for internal or personal use, or for the internal or personal use of specific clients, beyond the fair use provisions granted by the U.S. Copyright Law is authorized by SPIE subject to payment of copying fees. The Transactional Reporting Service base fee for this volume is \$18.00 per article (or portion thereof), which should be paid directly to the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC), 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923. Payment may also be made electronically through CCC Online at copyright.com. Other copying for republication, resale, advertising or promotion, or any form of systematic or multiple reproduction of any material in this book is prohibited except with permission in writing from the publisher. The CCC fee code is 0277-786X/15/\$18.00.

Printed in the United States of America.

Publication of record for individual papers is online in the SPIE Digital Library.



Paper Numbering: Proceedings of SPIE follow an e-First publication model. A unique citation identifier (CID) number is assigned to each article at the time of publication. Utilization of CIDs allows articles to be fully citable as soon as they are published online, and connects the same identifier to all online and print versions of the publication. SPIE uses a six-digit CID article numbering system structured as follows:

- The first four digits correspond to the SPIE volume number.
- The last two digits indicate publication order within the volume using a Base 36 numbering system employing both numerals and letters. These two-number sets start with 00, 01, 02, 03, 04, 05, 06, 07, 08, 09, 0A, 0B ... 0Z, followed by 10-1Z, 20-2Z, etc. The CID Number appears on each page of the manuscript.

Contents

٧	Authors
vii	Conference Committee
ix	Photochemical upconversion of light for renewable energy and more (Plenary Paper) [9562-202]
	SESSION 2
9560 05	In-situ/operando soft x-ray spectroscopy characterization of interfacial phenomena in energy materials and devices (Keynote Paper) [9560-4]
9560 06	Metal-complex/semiconductor hybrids for carbon dioxide fixation (Invited Paper) [9560-5]
	SESSION 5
9560 OG	Synchrotron-based spectroscopy for solar energy conversion (Keynote Paper) [9560-14]
	SESSION 6
9560 OM	Preparation of $\text{Cu}_2\text{O/TiO}_2$ nanotube arrays and their photoelectrochemical properties as hydrogen-evolving photoanode [9560-20]
	SESSION 9
9560 OW	Effect of potential on the conductivity of electrodeposited Cu ₂ O film [9560-30]

Proc. of SPIE Vol. 9560 956001-4

Authors

Numbers in the index correspond to the last two digits of the six-digit citation identifier (CID) article numbering system used in Proceedings of SPIE. The first four digits reflect the volume number. Base 36 numbering is employed for the last two digits and indicates the order of articles within the volume. Numbers start with 00, 01, 02, 03, 04, 05, 06, 07, 08, 09, 0A, 0B...0Z, followed by 10-1Z, 20-2Z, etc.

Arthur, Timothy S., 05 Boukahil, Idris, 0G Chang, Chinglin, 05 Cook, P. L., 0G Glans, Per-Anders, 05 Guo, Jinghua, 05 Han, Juan, 0W Himpsel, F. J., 0G Ishitani, Osamu, 06 Kibria, M. G., 0G Kronawitter, C. X., 0G Kuriki, Ryo, 06 Lin, Jia, 0M Liu, Yi-Sheng, 05 MacQueen, Rowan W., ix Maeda, Kazuhiko, 06 Mi, Zetian, 0G Mizuno, Fuminori, 05 Ning, Xiaohui, 0W Pemmaraju, S. C., 0G Pong, Way-Faung, 05 Prendergast, D., 0G Qiao, R., 0G Sang, Lixia, OM Schmidt, Timothy W., ix Sekizawa, Keita, 06 Tang, Hongsheng, 0W Vayssieres, L., 0G Yang, W., 0G Yang, Ying, 0W Zegkinoglou, I., 0G Zhang, Jing, 0M Zhang, Yudong, 0M Zhao, Yangbo, 0M

Proc. of SPIE Vol. 9560 956001-6

Conference Committee

Symposium Chair

Oleg V. Sulima, GE Global Research (United States)

Conference Chair

Shaohua Shen, Xi'an Jiaotong University (China)

Conference Program Committee

Hironori Arakawa, Tokyo University of Science (Japan)

Jan Augustynski, University of Warsaw (Poland)

Michael Grätzel, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (Switzerland)

Jinghua Guo, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (United States)

Hicham Idriss, SABIC (Saudi Arabia)

Yosuke Kanai, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (United States)

Claude Levy-Clement, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (France)

Sanjay Mathur, Universität zu Köln (Germany)

Frank E. Osterloh, University of California, Davis (United States)

David Prendergast, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (United States)

Yasuhiro Tachibana, RMIT University (Australia)

John A. Turner, National Renewable Energy Laboratory (United States)

Lionel Vayssieres, Xi'an Jiaotong University (China)

Heli Wang, National Renewable Energy Laboratory (United States)

Gunnar Westin, Uppsala University (Sweden)

Upul Wijayantha, Loughborough University (United Kingdom)

Jin Zhang, University of California, Santa Cruz (United States)

Session Chairs

- 1 **Shaohua Shen**, Xi'an Jiaotong University (China)
- 2 **Yasuhiro Tachibana**, RMIT University (Australia)
- 3 **Lionel Vayssieres**, Xi'an Jiaotong University (China)

- 4 **Ke Sun**, California Institute of Technology (United States)
- 5 **Bruce E. Koel**, Princeton University (United States)
- 6 **Coleman X. Kronawitter**, Princeton University (United States)
- 7 **Frank E. Osterloh**, University of California, Davis (United States)
- 8 **Gunnar Westin**, Uppsala University (Sweden)
- 9 Chung-Li Dong, National Synchrotron Radiation Research Center (Taiwan)
- 10 Hicham Idriss, SABIC (Saudi Arabia)
- 11 **Yosuke Kanai**, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (United States)
- 12 Mahendra K. Sunkara, University of Louisville (United States)
- 13 **Lionel Vayssieres**, Xi'an Jiaotong University (China)
- 14 **Shaohua Shen**, Xi'an Jiaotong University (China)